Collecting plastic waste and raising awareness

Many of us enjoy promenading around our gardens, forests or parks ; it is less common to visit coral reefs or to zigzag between the kelps that grow on our seabed. The richness and beauty of our forests seem easily palpable. However, the good health of our oceans is crucial yet somehow less obvious.

The underwater world still holds many mysteries. We know more about the far-off world of sidereal space than the abyssal depths of our oceans. Still, these are the true lungs of our planet and comprise around 70% of its surface.

Every day we witness the devastating effects of the consumerist era that sacrifice primary forests to build deserts of palm oil plantations. Even from space, we can see infinite areas of enclosed fields that Americans reserve for their cattle, saturating pastures with liquid manure and antibiotics. In our cities, concrete works are expanding to our countryside. However, from our shores the sea always seems to remain blue and unscathed. This is actually far from the truth.

We make the most of our stopover in Malendure (Guadeloupe) by taking up scuba diving. This bay is home to the Cousteau Reserve, a protected natural marine park. This reserve bears witness to the state of our seas as divers observe on a daily basis various instabilities: moray eels die without reason, lionfish invade the seabed, barrel sponges become asphyxiated by microalgae and corals barely survive the increasing acidification of the oceans.

Today we address the plastic waste in the bay.

Voluntary waste collection held on May 6th, 2018 in partnership with the diving center Les Heures Saines and the association Évasion Tropicale

Raising awareness: the most effective long-term action!

To complete our voluntary waste collection campaign, we gathered the participants for an interactive briefing.

In the form of a small quiz, Noémie tells us about the degradation time of plastic waste in the ocean.

Each year, waste and numerous pollutants are dumped into the oceans. Most of this waste did not even exist fifty years ago. Plastic materials are the most visible pollutants, but fertilizers and pesticides commonly used in agriculture, as well as industrial waste and exhaust gases, also end up in the oceans at some point. Afterwards, sea currents help disperse all these elements around the globe.

Overfishing, maritime transport and cruise ships are equally responsible for killing, disorienting or disrupting the aquatic fauna, which is essential for the balance of our planet.

That is why we need to act now against these practices!

Plastic waste:

Released into the oceans from the coasts, but also from continental areas, the plastic waste that we use on a daily basis—most of them single-use—end up floating in a huge mass, some of which are three times the size of France (in the case of the Great Pacific Garbage Patch).

Mass of plastic waste (North Caribbean Sea)
Source: Caroline Power Photography

After several decades, plastic materials degrade into microparticles. These particles colonize every corner of the planet. They accumulate in the tissue of fish that we later eat and become the endocrine disruptors that lead to cancer and other diseases.

Sunscreens:

The principle of a sunscreen is to block UV rays in order to protect our skin, but this feature is a double-edged sword. In highly touristic areas, swimmers covered in sunscreen explore the corals and other underwater landscapes leaving greasy trails behind them that block UV rays from the surface, preventing the crucial photosynthesis of aquatic plants. Deprived of photosynthesis, corals die in less than 48 hours. The seagrass on which turtles feed and is home to numerous small fish do not take long to disappear as well.

Dead corals for lack of photosynthesis

Fertilizers:

The purpose of agricultural fertilizers is to accelerate the plant growth. They are often spread too close to water sources and released into the ocean, increasing the proliferation of invasive algae. The beaches of Northern Brittany are being invaded by green algae that are potentially dangerous to health given their high concentration. A similar situation to the banks of sargassum weed that accumulate on the coasts of the West Indies, for example.

Accumulation of green algae in Brittany; source: Ouest-France
The growing problem of sargassum in Guadeloupe; source: Journal France-Antilles

We thank the participants that volunteered for the waste collection, the diving center Les Heures Saines and the association Évasion Tropicale for their collaboration.

We also thank Axel and Delphine for their help and involvement in the project.

Ramassage des déchets plastiques et sensibilisation

Nous sommes nombreux à aimer nous pavaner dans nos jardins, sous-bois et autres parcs ; il est moins commun de visiter les jardins coralliens où de serpenter parmi les laminaires de nos fonds marins. Pourtant si la richesse et la beauté de nos forêts nous semblent aisément constatables, l’indispensable bonne santé de nos océans est moins évidente.

Ce monde aquatique recèle encore bien des mystères. Nous connaissons mieux le monde lointain des espaces sidéraux que les profondeurs abyssales de nos océans. Ceux-ci sont pourtant le vrai poumon de notre belle planète et en recouvre près de soixante-dix pour-cent de sa surface.

Nous constatons chaque jour les ravages de l’ère consumériste qui rasent les forêts primaires pour en faire des déserts de palmiers à huile. Nous pouvons observer depuis la lune les espaces infinis de champs clos que les Américains réservent à leur bétail, saturant les prairies de purin et d’antibiotiques. Le bétonnage de nos villes s’étend toujours plus sur nos campagnes. Mais la mer, elle, semble rester toujours bleu et immuable depuis nos rivages. C’est en fait loin d’être le cas.

Nous profitons de notre escale à Malendure en Guadeloupe pour nous initier à la plongée en bouteille. Cette baie abrite la réserve Cousteau ; quelques kilomètres carrés d’espaces aquatiques protégés. Cette réserve se fait le témoin de l’état de nos mers et, tous les jours, les plongeurs font le constat de quelques déséquilibres : des murènes meurent sans raison, les poissons lions envahissent les fonds, les éponges barriques sont asphyxiées par des micro-algues et les coraux survivent difficilement à l’acidité croissante des océans.

Aujourd’hui nous nous attaquons aux déchets plastiques présents dans la baie.

Collecte volontaire de déchets organisée le dimanche 6 mai, en partenariat avec le club de plongée « Les Heures Saines » et l'association « Évasion Tropicale »

La sensibilisation : l'action la plus efficace à long terme !

Afin de compléter notre action de ramassage volontaire des déchets, nous avons réuni quelques uns des participants pour un petit briefing interactif.

Sous forme de petit quizz, Noémie nous parle de la durée de dégradation des déchets plastiques dans l’océan.

Chaque année, déchets et polluants diverses sont rejetés dans l’océan. La plupart de ces déchets n’existent que depuis une cinquantaine d’années environ. Les matières plastiques sont les polluants les plus visibles, mais les engrais et pesticides utilisés dans l’agriculture, les déchets industriels, nucléaires, ainsi que les gaz d’échappement, se retrouvent tous à un moment donné dans les océans. Les courants marins se chargent de disperser tout ces éléments sur la totalité du globe.

La surpêche, le transport maritime, ainsi que les navires de croisières, sont également autant de problèmes qui tuent, désorientent ou perturbent la faune aquatique, pourtant indispensable à l’équilibre de notre planète.

Il est donc urgent d’agir contre ces pratiques !

Les déchets plastiques :

Déversés dans les océans depuis les côtes, mais également depuis les zones les plus continentales, les déchets plastiques que nous utilisons au quotidien (le plus souvent pour un usage unique et bref) finissent par s’agglomérer et former des amas flottants sur des surfaces grandes comme trois fois la France (pour le plus grand « Trash Vortex » présent dans le Pacifique nord).

Amas de plastique en stagnation (nord de la mer Caraïbe)
Source: Caroline Power Photography

Après quelques décennies, les matières plastiques se dégradent en de micro-particules. Celles-ci colonisent les moindres recoins de la planète. Elle s’accumulent dans la chair des poissons que nous mangeons et sont les perturbateurs endocriniens qui favorisent nos cancers et autres maladies.

Les crèmes solaires :

Le principe d’une crème solaire est de bloquer les UV afin qu’ils ne brûlent pas notre peau, mais cette particularité est à double tranchant. Dans les lieux à forte affluence touristique, les baigneurs enduits de couches de crèmes solaires s’en vont explorer les coraux et autres paysages aquatiques en laissant derrière eux des nappes grasses qui, depuis la surface, bloquent les UV, empêchant ainsi la photosynthèse indispensable à la vie aquatique. Les coraux privés de leurs photosynthèses meurent en moins de quarante-huit heures. Les herbiers dont se nourrissent les tortues et où de nombreux petits poissons élisent domicile ne mettent pas beaucoup plus longtemps à disparaître à leur tour.

Coraux morts par faute de photosynthèse

Les engrais :

Les engrais utilisés dans l’agriculture ont pour principe d’accélérer la croissance des plantes. Répandus souvent trop près des cours d’eau, ils se déversent dans l’océan, favorisant ainsi la croissance et la prolifération d’algues invasives. Les plages du nord de la Bretagne sont alors envahies d’algues vertes, potentiellement dangereuses pour la santé suivant leur concentration. Il en est de même pour les bancs de sargasses qui s’accumulent sur les côtes Antillaises, par exemple.

Ramassage d’algues vertes qui s’accumulent en Bretagne ; source : Ouest-France
Le grave problème des sargasses en Guadeloupe ; source : Journal France-Antilles

Nous remercions tous les bénévoles ayant participé à cette session de ramassage des déchets, le club « Les Heures Saines » et l’association « Évasion Tropicale » pour leur collaboration.

Merci à Axel et Delphine pour l’encadrement et leur implication.


eDuST3r0
FAIRE UN DON
error: © Walden Voyage 2018